“Glory to God in the Highest”

This time of year you may be teaching on the birth of Christ.  I urge you to try and not be sentimental but stick with the facts.  Many of the Christmas cards , Charlie Brown, and carols that we sing have given us misconceptions of the biblical account.  Read the accounts in Matthew 1:18-2:23 and Luke 2 :1-20 carefully and you will find that no where is it mentioned that Mary rode a donkey to Bethlehem.  It does not mention that right when they arrived in Bethlehem…boom…Mary gave birth.  “And so it was that, while they were there, the days were accomplished that she should be delivered”. The word for inn in Greek is “katalyma” and means “lodging place or guest chamber”.  The other word for “inn” is pandocheion and is found in the story of the good Samaritan.  This is the word meaning “inn – a public house for the reception of strangers”.  Doesn’t it make sense that Joseph sought a guest room with one of his relatives ? This blessed event  did not take place in December according to scholars. Angels were praising God and “saying”, and the wise men (not numbered) from the east (not Orient) came to the “child” (not infant) in a “house”.

Dear Servants of the Most High God: Thank-you for allowing me to share in your preparations for teaching the LORD’S precious kids.  I apologize  for any ads that are offensive to you.  I do not have any control over them unless I pay $30.00/year .  In fact, it was  just discerned yesterday that there was any advertising on this blog…there is none on my end!  Blessings in the new year.  Keep looking up.

A word about printing copies of the worksheets from your computer…as I have mentioned before, this is probably going to take some adjusting on your end.  I have scanned most of the work using a standard full sheet of paper…. 8 1/2 in. by 11 in. Other worksheets are half a standard page…8 1/2 in. by 5 1/2 in.  To get them to fit on the page I have had to reduce some of the pages so you will have to “stretch” them to be full-sized.  I pray this is not confusing but I am working with the originals and so when I make copies, I use the copier at church.  (I copied the Gideon page for a young friend the other day, from her computer, and she did no adjusting….the Angel of the Lord printed only 2  1/2in. tall.  The original is 3 1/2 inches tall and fits on a half sheet.) Hope this helps…..                           

One thought on ““Glory to God in the Highest”

  1. Hi Annie! I did read Matthew and Luke carefully and you’re right, they were there in Bethlehem for at least two days before He was delivered. Regarding the “inn”, basically there was no room or indoor space available. But I’m sure that was the plan, God didn’t say “Nuts! No room at the inn! I guess I’ll have to just lay in this manger…” God chose to arrive outdoors in the country, under the stars, where His glory could shine all around among the angels and shepherds. What a sight that must have been!

Leave a Reply

