“Behold, I Stand at the Door and Knock”

A Royal Invitation

Answering His knock

Jesus gave John seven messages to give His church in the book of Revelation.  They were individual messages to actual churches.  They also have personal application to all of His children (“He that has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.”) Some bible scholars teach that these messages portray a prophetic profile of church history but I do not want to focus this lesson on this debatable point.  Rather, I would like to point out that the church with one of the worst reputations is offered the most eminent of all of the promises if they repent and overcome…”Therefore be zealous and repent.  Behold, I stand at the door and knock.  If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and dine with him and he with Me. To him who overcomes I will grant to sit with Me on My throne…” Notice the great love and intense affection Jesus has for the members of this church…”As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten…” 

I think it is remarkable that the Lord wants to spare them shame…lest their nakedness be revealed!  He counsels them to buy from Him gold refined in the fire so they will have true riches, instead of just worldly wealth, and He also wants to give them spiritual sight and white robes.  Do you think this wealthy church who said  “I am rich and have need of nothing”, will realize their true condition of being wretched, miserable, poor blind and naked?

I hope they answer His knock and invite Him in to  dine and fellowship .  This is not fast food, people! To ignore this request invites the LORD’s displeasure…”so then, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will vomit you out of My mouth.” Rev. 3:16

Behold, I stand at the Door – wkst

Separate the worksheet between the floor and the door with text.  Cut out the door and write the rest of Revelation 3:20 on the back.  Have the kids choose a figure to color and cut out,  to represent themselves answering the door…or use both figures! When gluing figure do not glue hand.  That is what will “open” the door  and prevents it from “flapping” open! Color the top portion and apply glue to the  right edge of the doorframe around the figure of Jesus.  Only glue one edge as you want the door to swing open ! Optional: add glitter to Jesus’ hair…”His head and His hair were white like white wool, as white as snow…and His face  was like the sun shining in full power at midday.” Revelation 1: 14-16 (you might read the description of Jesus  from this passage while the kids are coloring Him.)

Alpha and Omega

Behold – worksheet – no text

2 thoughts on ““Behold, I Stand at the Door and Knock”

Leave a Reply

